Hole How-To

Damn Yankee

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi All, Hope I have the right forum...

I have both hands tied behind my back and need help. I purchased a mill and committed on the Precision Mathews of The Hobby-Machinist to document a novel way of implementing an auto Z-Axis feed which would include Plunge Milling (dependent on material hardness). Though I don't own a PM mill, I have a Weiss VML25-D - a kissing cousin with only slight differences so the project is relevant to both mills. My problems are:
  • The mill is a tabletop, 1 HP variable speed, so any hard/thick material is a challenge
  • It is the only machine shop tool I own (wish I had a lathe)
  • The hole diameter to material thickness ratio is heavy-duty
  • I am a Newb - think one project (successfully completed)
Then challenge is to create a 1.75" hole in the center of two 4" x4" x .5" aluminum flats and a 2.9" x .125" relief, concentric with the 1.75" hole in one of the flats (motor locator). With a lathe and 4-jaw chuck, even I could do this in say 1/2 hour - again, not an option. I do however have an 8" rotary table...

So, I ask for the 1.75" center hole in .5" aluminum:
  • Hole saw?
  • Spade bit?
  • Rotary table and end mill?
And for the .125" relief:
  • Rotary table and end mill?
  • I can think of no other option :(
Though I did not mention it, between the 4 x 4 plates sits a piece of 4 x 4 tubing. I would like to ease (radius) the corners along its length. Is the RT my only option and how do I clamp it???

Thanks for the ideas!

John

First, I'm going to assume you don't have a boring head, which would be the obvious way to do this in a mill.