Grinding HSS Tools

jocat54

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I don't really have a question, so this may not be the right place to post this. Please move if needed.
I have been using carbide inserts to learn on (a complete newbie) and haven't been very happy with them, as far as finish goes. I tried my hand at grinding some HSS today and man what a difference--my finishes are much nicer and my threading is much smoother.

I have only ground two tools so far but I think this will be what I use most of the time now. Hopefully my grinding will get better with more practice.

Carbide is actually a very poor choice for light duty machines such as small lathes and bench mills. Their lack of rigidity makes it very difficult to get a good surface finish with carbide, carbide is very expensive compared to high speed and it is less forgiving and chips or breaks much easier than high speed. High speed can be ground over an over to exactly the shape needed and as you have already found out, it generally creates a much better finish than carbide.

There is an excellent guide to grinding high speed tools in the download section that you might like to check out.

How to Grind Lathe Tools

Tom

I did the same thing when I bought my (first) lathe about 18 months ago. I bought one of those cheap carbide tool sets with the replaceable inserts and a couple of HSS blanks. I started off using the carbide tools and all I managed to do was chip the inserts so I decided I would use the HSS tools until I got some experience so I didn't damage any more of the carbides. To my suprise the HSS was so much better to work with. The carbides are still in the drawer and will probably stay there, I like using HSS to much.:)

I see that you have a 45 South Bend, I also have one and It positively does not like it. I think all will
aggree these tools are reserved for new high teck machines. I think you have to be a lot aggressive
with them in which the SB is not. stay with HSS sam

Hi,