Fusion 360

@3strucking
Does anyone here use FreeCAD? I think thats the one I am going to dedicate the time to. I also have a student version of Solidworks.

First read the 3rd paragraph of below...."So, if you want to use FreeCAD..."

I agree it takes a lot of time to learn big software packages and if you walk a way for a few months you have to learn a lot of stuff over. I have used FreeCAD, but not for quite a while. In fact, I am not for sure my install even still works. I used it to make a few things and to design some gears. I am not an expert on FreeCAD or Fusion 360, but FreeCAD seems to do everything that 360 does, but is not as polished. I seldom need to make very complicated 3-D items, so I usually just write my own G-code by hand. It is not that hard and after you do it a few times then you get faster plus you have a personal library of bits of code to work from. However, FreeCAD does have a hand full of G-code generators. Anyway, the best I can tell the general concept of 3D design is the same in all of the packages. You just have to learn new command syntax and there placement in the menus when you go from one to another. I have an old 2-D VISIO package and I am old school (high school mechanical drafting--pencil/paper and T-square and parallel bar) so I usually do my drawings in 2-D. So VISIO is fine. It runs faster and is simpler to learn and comes with many pre-drawn objects. However, my old Visio package does not generate G-code, but others have worked on this.. VISIO is a MS OFFICE add on and so it not free.