Full Cnc Retrofit... Is It Viable?

Str8jacket

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Its probably a question that has been asked hundreds of times, but here it goes again.

Is it a viable option? I can convert my knee mill, or I can build a daughter table, or I can buy a used cnc mill with outdated or non working controls and retrofit.

I have zero experience in this area but Im not overly stupid, and I want to and am willing to learn, but is somethung of this scale just way to far into the deep end?

I see others on here tackling retrofits but most have help, i will have none that I can foresee.

So without even getting into which route to take control wise, is this something a newbie should venture into. I do want to learn more than go into production of a given product.... that said i would actually like to get some use out of the finished project. And i would prefer a machine that is productive and usable rather than a toy, which is why I I am leaning towards a cnc retrofit rather than a scratch built project.

Cheers Str8

Thanks for that link I will have a read.

Im actually looking more at a machine that is already cnc but needs a change out of controls. Has ATC carousel etc. A full blown machine centre not so much a manual machine conversion.

The short answer is YES, any of the above. Having said that. I vote for the controls retrofit of an existing CNC machine.