Flat Head Hit Miss Engine

rogerl

Registered
Registered
After the success I had with the white gas in the other hit miss engine I built I have decided to build a flat head hit miss engine similar to the one that Ray built a while ago. I looked thru the different hit miss engine builds that Ray did and I liked the flat head design. The valves are not sticking out the top of the head and you do not need a rocker arm and rocker arm mount for the exhaust valve. Below are the design specifications.

1" bore
1.5" throw
Ball Bearings to support the crank shaft
6:1 compression ratio
6" diameter flywheels
David Kerzel style governor (like I used for my previous motor)

Unlike Ray I need to do the design and drawings first then start machining. Once I get the layout done I will post some photos of the layout. I will be doing the design in SolidWorks that I have for work.

Ray, if you see something in the design specs that you think will cause problems feel free to let me know. I am a novice at the engine design.

Thanks
Roger L

Your design specs should work just fine.
When I was working on this design there were two things that gave me some time for concern. The first was that the piston liner is not completely sealed all the way around by the cylinder head gasket.
A photo to show my concern.
IMG_1298.JPG

A large section of the liner is not covered by the head gasket and is subjected to the combustion's high pressure gases. The liner must be sealed not only to stop any water leaks but also the high pressure of combustion. A super good seal at this end of the liner is a must.