First Turning Tool Holder Set

Kroll

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Guys since I'm new at this,I really don't know for sure what I need for just some basic turning.So I am looking at couple of Shars sets that I don't know the benefits of one over the other.Could ya'll take alook and see what ya think,if there is an advantage please let me know?Thanks guys
404-1051main_1.jpg

404-1051main_1.jpg

404-1051main_1.jpg

404-1051main_1.jpg

404-1051main_1.jpg

Here's the other I am looking at,I'm not concern about the parting or threading I got that covered
404-1041Main.jpg

404-1041Main.jpg

404-1041Main.jpg

404-1041Main.jpg

404-1041Main.jpg

What kind of lathe are you using? Carbide usually works better on heavy, high spped equipment.

Don't know much about either one, but the first set will have 3 different inserts to buy to replace them.
The second set are all the same type of insert, so you can buy a box of 10 and be good for quite a while.

I have a set I got free that looks something like the second one and like it for general turning and facing.
I already had the replacement inserts for it and the only reason I took it.

Thanks,that what I notice also.Just wanted to keep it simple.Buy inserts that for steel,aluminum and stainless steel.Mike I will be using these on my Colchester which I just got a piece of mild steel in that's 10" long so that I can get started on the headstock checking the alignment this weekend.

Buying "sets" is pointless without knowing what the work is going to be, buy tools for the job at hand.
In the first picture the far right tool is a trigon insert, WNMT, an excellent roughing tool that will both turn and face equally well.

The third one from the left looks like a 55 Deg. insert tool, VNMG these are excellent for turning close to a center, fragile however due to the sharp angles.

Laydown threading tools work fine but may also interfere with a center when turning small threads, vertical thread tools will get much closer.