Finding Local Suppliers?

mike837go

Registered
Registered
Anybody have better ideas on locating local suppliers for metal?

There are plenty of online suppliers. Trying to google "metal suppliers" and my zip code turns up anybody that'll ship to my area.

I've been playing and working with various metals for 40+ years. I haven't had the training to know the terminology to place an online order. I wind up with a 20 minute phone call to get the order placed and some clues about the names/specifications of what I wanted.

What I really want is to visit a showroom or warehouse. Various materials on racks and pallets. Touch and heft the stuff. Decide what is (and is not) suitable and put it on a cart. Then pay for it and drive it home. Within the hour start marking it up for cutting...

How does one go about finding such places?

I don't know about metal suppliers in your area. Here, in my part Wisconsin they are known as heavy hardware suppliers. There is a showroom with tools, fasteners, tee shirts, sweat bands, etc. and an order counter. You go up counter and place your order. Then you go over to the billing window where you pay for your order. Then you get in your truck and go around to the warehouse where you pick up your order. You buy in length of whatever the metal comes in or full sheets. They will cut it for you for your convenience at $.50 per cut. There are no shopping carts, no wandering through the warehouse (it is an OSHA regulated environment). You better know what you want when you come in. These vendors are doing business with other businesses who buy by the ton. If they will do business with you at all, it is a favor to you.

You may be able to start some kind of a relationship with a local welding, sheet metal, or machine shop. Most shops stock materials and you could perhaps buy cutoffs or drops. You can ask them where they buy their materials as well.