• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Fagor Innova Dro Failures and Errors Needs TLC?

G

gapi

Guest
#1
I have the pleasure of giving TLC to a Bridgeport that has been rode hard and put up wet.

Hygiene and love have not been a priority. When trying to use the Dro the Y axis is OK but the X either will not respond or if it does as soon as you move the table it errors.

Can I get some tips on what to do troubleshooting wise?

Thanks

BridgePortDigital_zps026a1ceb.jpg
 

Attachments

darkzero

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
2,995
Likes
1,713
#2
Do they give false readings or does the display actually display an error message? If they are glass scales which I assume your Fagor has this is a common problem. Although it doesn't happen very often as in periodically many people do run into this. Most of the time it's cause by dirty scales.

You use a cotton swap & denatured alcohol (isopropyl will work too, higher the % the better) to swap the glass scales clean bh reaching through the seals. Try not to blow air as it may damage the read head if there's a lot of chips inside & will only blow oils/coolant around. Some scales can be disassembled if they are real dirty & you need to clean the read head too.
 
G

gapi

Guest
#3
Thanks,

I have never removed a scale so I'll be in uncharted territory and am glad I asked before guessing. I may have just used an air hose. I hope it just needs cleaning.
 
G

gapi

Guest
#4
Sorry, I didn't answer your question.

Reset it to zero and as soon as you move it either freezes or blinks.

I looked for Google videos of servicing scales. I wonder what Fagor or a Fagor service center would charger to do the service? Any recommendations? We are not the original purchaser.
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
6,422
Likes
4,137
#5
Normally you don't need to remove the scale. Just pull the cover off and you should be able to access the glass.
 
G

gapi

Guest
#7
OK,

I have to apologize because I got my scale issues mixed up. The one I said was not responding or error alarming was for the one on the Victor 1640 I am also trying to revive.

So lets begin again.......... This one just did not respond.

I pulled the scale off the Bridgeport X axis and as soon as I began to do so I knew it was going to be bad. Some one has let the table over travel and smashed her up.
The scale is at least 36-inched long. I sat the thing centered on top of the table and could tell they failed to set the auto and hard travel stops so the scale would survive.

As soon as I tried to back out the mounting screw and seen it was elliptical in behavior I lost my hopes of this just being a cleanup.
It pulled the wireds out of the sensor!

Here is the pic. The screws on both ends looked the same. I didn't get the other one in the pic.

What can I pick up a scale for. Are there refurbs? Thanks

brokenscale_zps2b021c01.jpg
 

Attachments

darkzero

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
2,995
Likes
1,713
#8
Holy crap! Never heard of refurbished scales & it may not be worth sending to Fagor for repair if they did offer the service. Where the wires got ripped off, is it covered with epoxy? Any possibility in soldering the wires back?

If not, what kind of connector does your scale have? The most common is the D-Sub 9 (looks like a VGA connector). You could buy a replacement, doesn't have to be Fagor as I'm assuming a Fagor scale is pretty expensive.

Best bet is to contact DROPros to get a replacement scale. They sell Fagors so they should know exactly what will work for a replacement. An Easson scale scale should work. To prevent future crashes, your scales should be an inch or 2 (travel not OAL) longer then the max travel of your axis. It would be best to get the correct size scale now that you have to get a replacement. Ask them about this & they should be able to take care of you. They are located in the US & their customer service is excellent.

If you're on a budget, you can order a replacement scale cheaper from China but you will pretty much have to do all the research yourself in what scale & size to get that is compatible.
 
G

gapi

Guest
#9
Thanks,

I was just wondering about refurbs. You never know eh?

I have visited DroPros. Looks like a good vendor.
On the other end of the spectrum I stumbled into CDCO Machinery Corp. Everything there is frighteningly cheap.

We will have to see how enthused I can get the boss.
They kind of let the shop go to waste (former CEO slaughtered the place) and I have already demonstrated the value added by making repairs fopr them using the shop as is.

It looks like to get a longer scale I'll have to drill and tap holes in the table. How hard is the metal?

Meanwhile for all my DRO "must have" needs, I use the below SuperMax that has a working DRO but no auto x axis.
The DRO is an OLD Futuba and the readout is dim but it works. I see there is a Ground terminal at the rear unused. Do you think this may be why the display is so dim?


SuperMaxMill_zpsd9527d7a.jpg

futabarear_zps7bc69b00.jpg
 

Attachments

darkzero

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
2,995
Likes
1,713
#10
Good luck with that Frank dude at CDCO, I will never purchase something from him again. Many have good experiences but many others have not also, do a search on the net or even just here.

Yup that scale looks way too short. Wonder if that's the same Futaba that manufactuers RC controllers? I doubt the ground screw on the display is the cause for a dim display. I would think that given the age that it would still use LED displays but if it is really old it could be vacuum flourescent display, those get dim as they age. Not sure if they were used in DRO displays back then though.
 
G

gapi

Guest
#11
I hear you.

I was just tossing them out there. I go by the "If its too good to be true" its most likely not.

I'll be back
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
6,422
Likes
4,137
#12
Yeah, that pretty well finished. Time for some new scales. +1 what darkzero said, depending on budget, there are a lot of options available.

EDIT:

It looks like to get a longer scale I'll have to drill and tap holes in the table. How hard is the metal?


The DRO is an OLD Futuba and the readout is dim but it works. I see there is a Ground terminal at the rear unused. Do you think this may be why the display is so dim?
The table is a good grade of cast iron, so it's pretty soft. Drills and taps very well, be careful tapping, it can be a bit grabby on small taps. Use a dark cutting oil, normally available at the big box stores as well as you local industrial/plumbing supply.

I don't think the ground is causing the dim display, probably just getting tired.
 
Last edited:
G

gapi

Guest
#13
Thanks, Well upon further review in looking at the possible mounting points of interest it looks like some poor soul decided to mount a scale smaller than the previous one.
Have a look.
I put the end cap of the ruined scale where it was for effect.


scaleforensics_zps458f9d58.jpg
 

Attachments

G

gapi

Guest
#14
Thanks Guys,

Well, the Bridge Port Fagor thing is out as the scales are very expensive and cross compatibility is vague so my boss will not roll those dice. We are looking a a new setup from Dro Pros for around $600.00.

We have a Victor 1640 lathe with a Futaba Pulscale DRO system with issues. The X axis is fine and the Y axis was really full of debris and had been for a while. It tossed errors for most of the travel at the same place reliably, I would say 75% of the travel would error.
Not only the above but they has the axis's reversed, and I swapped cables.

I pulled it apart and we have aerosol alcohol so I wet it down good and Q-Tipped her and reassembled but it still was pretty bad.

I could see a rub on the glass and the glass over the reader pickup. With nothing to loose I buffed them firmly with lens paper and managed to salvage it all but for a 3/4" section of travel about 3/4" inboard from the center. I call it a significant save because tool post arrangement can be manipulated to avoid the spot 99% of the time. We almost never need to face off wide travel items.

Yeh, the rub is in the most traveled space I guess.

The Futaba Display,

VictorDigital_zpsd1bba40c.jpg
 

Attachments

fastback

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
488
Likes
13
#15
When you get the new DRO from DRO-PROS you will note that the alignment of the scale and reader is critical. If they are not installed right the scale can be destroyed in no time. Just make sure you carefully follow the directions that they provide. I have one of DRO-PROS glass scale set ups on my BP and have been very happy with the unit.

I remember needing to call them with question. They were very good at getting back to me right away with the information I needed.

Good luck

Paul
 

Skyking252

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
3
Likes
0
#17
I have the same Futaba Pulscale CJ2004 DRO on my Maxmill and I'm in desperate need of an operating manual. Do you have ANY literature on this DRO that you could scan for me?
 
G

gapi

Guest
#20
You Still There?

How about these. They are cellular cam images of a large laminated double sided card I found deep in the dark among the archives. I didn't give up.
Its got to be the simplest instruction manual I ever seen.

These are sized down to 1200x900 from 3264 x 2448 at about 3.20 to 3.25 MB each. If you likie, and want the full resolution versions, give me or PM an email address.

pulscale_manual_1200_01.jpg

pulscale_manual_1200_02.jpg
 

Skyking252

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
3
Likes
0
#21
Immense thanks for your efforts. These will be helpful, but I'm still going to need the complete manual if there's any hope of restoring the functionality of this box. I'll send a PM with my email.
 

astjp2

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
727
Likes
77
#22
Many scales will interchange if you know the resolution and signal output. If you have a 1um scale with ttl, you can buy a 1 um ttl from another manufacturer and plug n play. I bought a newall, its inductive and not glass scales. You will still pay a few hundred each for a scale but its much better than a chicom copy of a real dro. That is a decent mill worth a good DRO. Really trip your boss out and do axis summing on the Z, the quill will add and subtract along with normal Z travel.....Go to the newall or other websites and do some reading. Tim http://www.yuriystoys.com/2013/12/selecting-scales-for-dro.html
 

Ken Mach

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8
Likes
9
#23
I have the same Futaba Pulscale CJ2004 DRO on my Maxmill and I'm in desperate need of an operating manual. Do you have ANY literature on this DRO that you could scan for me?
I have the same Futaba Pulscale CJ2004 DRO on my Maxmill and I'm in desperate need of an operating manual. Do you have ANY literature on this DRO that you could scan for me?
Just wondering if you ever managed to secure a manual for your Futaba Pulsa Scale unit? I am in need on one as well.