Electric Vehicles on the horizon? Do your homework

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
To my friends,

I've been in the Ford dealer franchise business since 1976. I've been a general manager since the early 90's.
This momentum to move to an ever increasing electric vehicle line-up, has me questioning the wisdom.
""General Motors plans to completely phase out vehicles using internal combustion engines by 2035""

High Voltage battery basics:
Electric cars use Lithium-ion battery packs -"Critical raw materials used in manufacturing Li-ion batteries (LIBs) include lithium, graphite, cobalt, and manganese."

I've seen the videos of children in the Congo working in the cobalt mines. Huge open pit mines are used for other materials.

No, electric cars, they are not zero emissions vehicles... During manufacturing, energy production and at the end of their life cycle. In the first case, the need for mining activities to extract the rare earth metals that are used in batteries is very energy consuming and polluting.
As for the energy production, if the car is being powered with energy from burning fossil fuels, it is still releasing CO2 in the atmosphere, not from the tailpipe but from some distant power plant. When it comes to batteries being recycled, it is still an expensive and ongoing process and most batteries are not being recycled yet.

The financial aspect of EV ownership.
EV's come with a 115AC charger. It will not fully charge the battery overnight assuming it was down to a low state of charge. A high capacity charger is available but must (in most cases) be installed by an electrician. We installed two at the dealership at a cost of $1,100 each (charger and labor).
Know the costs!

EV battery warranty
The EV battery warranty in this country is 8 years or 100,000 miles. I just priced a replacement battery for the Mustang Mach e. The standard 68kWh battery is $26,000.