drills for tapping Q

SE18

Active User
Registered
I've been leafing thru Machinery's Handbook and saw the chart for drills needed for tapping different holes. I was surprised by the number of letter and number drills that are used for these purposes. So I went to Lowe's and Harbor Freight and Home Depot and a lot of other places and they don't seem to exist.

COuld regular fractional bits be used? The handbook lists tolerances allowable for tapping based on the tap size and # of threads (it gives a minimum and maximum allowable hole).

I guess I could try my hand also at making a boring bar from my 3/8" HSS blanks and custom my own hole too. I have a South Bend 9A lathe, btw.

Oh, and I plan on tapping a variety of steels for some projects.

As you can tell I'm a beginner so your suggestions appreciated. I don't have much on my credit card so please don't suggest anything that's too expensive. LOL

Dave V

Harbor Freight sells sets with number drills. HSS, TiN coated and Cobalt. (edit) They've got a 60 piece set on sale now for $20.

What I've always done is look up the decimal inch or metric size of the recommended drill and scrounge through what drills I've got to find the closest size using my caliper. This gives also gives you some choices on how tight you want the hole to be.

I've got a number set now but I still scrounge through my box of mixed bits when tapping because I have some I like.

Depends on how much strength you require from the internal threads. Can't remember where I've seen the info, but you do not give up a lot of strength as the tap drill size increases. I went for a few years without number and alpha drills with little to no problem for holes 1/4" and up. That was for coarse threads. It is much better to make the hole oversized than undersized. Undersized holes lead to hard tapping and broken taps.

Sometimes we get our underware all knotted up over stuff that is really unimportant. Make chips and see what you can live with.

Bill