DoAll surface grinder 6x12

DAM 79

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
So I cleaned up the DoAll grinder I picked up last week and did a light cuts on the Mag chuck started at 2 thou and then went down to 5 tenths at a time . Not to sure about this surface finish but this is my first time running a surface grinder
I dressed the wheel with a diamond first also .
Not sure if this is good or bad ?? But I definitely think there is room for improvement !!
Definitely a learning curve also as this is all new to me !!

Attachments

• DEA5CF2D-CAE9-41C0-B317-E9DAA2B1FA68.jpeg
    DEA5CF2D-CAE9-41C0-B317-E9DAA2B1FA68.jpeg
    251.4 KB · Views: 42
  • A21AB440-1B72-4D75-95D2-5AD1B6DA59A3.jpeg
    A21AB440-1B72-4D75-95D2-5AD1B6DA59A3.jpeg
    299.6 KB · Views: 41
It looks good for your first go. The dark streaks are from heat. Run coolant or even mist to get rid of that. No real noticeable chatter so the spindle is good. Nice score it will serve you well.

Cutting oil is my blood.

There is a good write up in the DoAll manual (posted on Vintage Machinery - "DoALL Instruction Manual for model DH-618"). You need to be sure the bottom side of the magnet and table are clean and there are no burrs. Some people advocate grinding the table and the back side of the magnet. I chose not to grind the table and back of magnet, but did confirm a good fit. When you mount the magnet, be sure to use well fitted bolts (on my latest SG, the bolts holding the mag down were regular cap screws with the heads ground to fit the slot. Not good, make some bolts with a long head that fits the slot), also don't reef down on the bolts - snug is all that is needed.