Do I Need A $200 Combination Square?

Bob V

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi,
I'm new to all of this and just getting my very old machine going, and getting the tools I need.

I've bought some "top of the line" stuff-- I bought a Kurt vise, for example.
And I've bought some less expensive stuff--like 19 bucks for five spot drills from LMS.

--So do I need to spend $200+ for a Starret combination square?
--Is there a good Chinese one? (I like to buy USA, but I also have a budget!)

Thanks,
Bob

Probably not for the average home hobbyist (brand new $200+) but they are very nice to have. I personally would buy a used quality one than a new China one.

I am with Will, as long as you check them, a used one is fine. Starrett, Mitutoyo, Lufkin, Brown & Sharpe, or even PEC. They turn up all the time here on craigslist. If you just need the square, the Starrett is under $100.00 new on amazon. The protractor head and the center can be bought separately later. The protractor head being quite useful.

Darrell

My Starrett combination square is the 2nd most used tool in my arsenal behind my Mitutoyo digital caliper. I have both the satin chrome 12 inch and 24 inch rules, I use the 24 inch frequently. I also frequently use my simple 6 inch machinist rule. I'm installing a DRO on my mill at the moment and I'm using all three on this job.

You can save a few bucks by just buying the square, I have never needed the Starrett protractor or center finder gadget. I have a separate precision center finder with a beveled edge which I like better.

Couldn't agree more with Will. From my own experience - by all means avoid cheap made in China measuring tools. You don't have to spend a fortune on top of the range stuf. Just buy quality, used tool and you'll never ever regret it. Money well spend and just a sheer pleasure to use them - they always perform as they meant to, they were made that way.