DIY Calibration

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
In another thread it was mentioned that electronics hobbyists have a system of sending calibration standards around to each other so they can calibrate home shop equipment.

I’m wondering if there’s any interest in doing similar in this community. I could see it being based on our pass around box, but it would require someone who knows how to create the standards and write instructions for using them.

I’m not that person but I thought it would be worth pitching the idea here and seeing if anyone wanted to run with it.

John

It’s an interesting idea.
I’m a bit of a metrology freak - I’m always curious about the accuracy of my instruments. In past lives, I worked in the semiconductor industry, and we had all kinds of neat measurement standards. I’ve had my pressure gauges and meters calibrated by NIST-traceable labs, but I’ve always wanted a Primary pressure standard (a deadweight tester).

As I gather tools to support my (soon-to-be purchased) milling machine, I had a decision to make - buy name-brand calipers and dial indicators, or try to save a lot of money and by Chinese tools, which might not be as accurate. I ended up buying a Shahe micrometer and a few test indicators. Then I bought a “B” grade Wen set of gauge blocks. In theory, each block is measured and the error noted, so I could use those to confirm the other instruments. When I measured the 1.0000” block with the caliper, it measured within 1/10,000” - which is plenty good enough for me. My other digital caliper was also right on.