Delta Rockwell band saw motor will not start

What you're describing is that the motor isn't seeing the capacitor. Could be miswired, a bad connection, or the capacitor has too small a value.

An "expert" must be taken as the individual sounds that make up the word. "Ex" being a has been. And "Spert" being a drip under pressure. Further, I am not an expert, having never finished grammar school. Never went to high school but worked in the "industrial" electrical field fo well over 50 years.

That said, my experience leads me to the following disertation on the subject:

First off: "microfarad" is a common reference for capacitors, as are nano and pico farads. Milli-farads was not used until very recently, the last ten years or so. I use the symbol "u" to represent the Greek "mu" or "micro". Most "electrolytic" capacitors use "mF" or "uF" to refer to capacity. I have never seem a "milli-farad" designation. A capacitor of such capacity is normally refered to as 47,000 uF or mF. It is not labeled as 47 milli-farads. The use of 1 to 50 Farads (or larger spans) is very recent and usually for low voltage capacitors, 5 volts or so. It is an accepted fact that as voltage rating goes up, size also increases. When space permits, voltage rating is at least double, usually more, in linear power supplies.

In addition to this, there are "non polarized" electrolytics that allow the use on A-C. The 47,000 uF mentioned above is polarity sensitive and usually explodes on reverse polarity. Such filter capacitors must never be used on A-C or reverse polarity. They make great voltage stabilizers on D-C but must never be used on A-C. I have some non-polarized electrolytics on hand, of 300 uF or so and 480 volts AC. They are the size of an oil can.