Dc Motor Vs Ac?

I'm not understanding why you have a 120 feed into the DC motor in the diagram?

Nor do I understand why the cb is in the return line instead of the "hot" line.

I have some knowledge of wiring, but not so much house services....I'm all aircraft and automotive wiring knowledge.

:)

Edit- oh wait. Black is the hot and white is the neutral in house wiring, isn't it? That would make more sense with the diagram...

I'm not understanding why you have a 120 feed into the DC motor in the diagram?

Nor do I understand why the cb is in the return line instead of the "hot" line.

I have some knowledge of wiring, but not so much house services....I'm all aircraft and automotive wiring knowledge.

Edit- oh wait. Black is the hot and white is the neutral in house wiring, isn't it? That would make more sense with the diagram...
The AC is probably routed through a thermal overload in the motor.

use the drawing where it shows the mc 60 contol, the second one it makes more cents , and put the motor stop and start switch in the pot middle wire the (wiper) that way you don't have to change the pot setting you can start the speed setting where you set it from before

use the drawing where it shows the mc 60 contol, the second one it makes more cents , and put the motor stop and start switch in the pot middle wire the (wiper) that way you don't have to change the pot setting you can start the speed setting where you set it from before
No worries, I'm going to be using a cycletrol 150. Different beast than a treadmill controller.

I'm going to chip in here in the AC/DC/variable speed discussion...

If you're running either at low speeds and heavy loads, add an external fan to cool the motor, at low RPM the motor's fan won't push much cooling air so it's easy to overheat the motor to the point where the insulation starts breaking down, result: loss of magic smoke, dead motor which shorts and blows the controller...