Cut my first barrel tenon threads today.

TonyBen

Registered
Registered
An old machinist friend of mine once said: "If you want to be a successful gun builder, don't turn down any work."

I've been working on expanding my customer base to those outside of the M14 and M1 Garand world and I've been working on other skills that appeal to the long range bolt crowd. One of those skills is being able to custom install a contoured barrel blank onto a bolt action rifle.

One of my customers has asked me to install two Proof Research barrels onto Remington CSR barrel extensions. He knows I've never done this before and is willing to wait while I train myself to do this kind of work.

Over the last year, I've bought all kinds of tooling, including carbide turning/facing tools and bits as well as carbide boring bars and inserts and external/internal carbide threading and grooving tools. I spent a lot of time getting my lathe in order a couple of weeks ago in preparation for this work. Here's the thread I posted on my results.
https://www.hobby-machinist.co...hews-pm1236t.110289/

At the end of the day, I was able to get my lathe aligned to within 0.0004" over the span of a 15 inch cut. So over the span of 15 inches, my lathe will cut a steel bar to within less than half a thousandth of taper. I got some advice from Frank at Bartlein barrels and he said my setup was more than adequate to do everything I can on that lathe.