Crashed my lathe

zippyslug31

Registered
Registered
I just started learning SPTing... lots to remember such as getting the correct change gears, lathe speed, doing the "3 handwheel mambo", oh yeah and don't forget to look at the thread indicator before engaging the half nut! :rolleyes:

Needless to say I was a bit preoccupied and managed to clobber my compound with the chuck. Took a couple of pea-sized chunks out of the compound and have a new scratch on one of the way facets. Double :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I had to hone down a couple of interfering burrs, but now all 3 handwheels run to their full ranges without any issues. The chuck seems to turn freely by hand, but is there anything else I should inspect before trying to fire the lathe back up?
I think I'm just going to try my threading operation at least once more (with the stock pulled WAY out, away from the chuck) just to make sure everything that is in my current setup all works without any new clunks or weird noises.

Additional thoughts and bashings? I'm kicking myself at the moment.

Just go for it. Seems like you covered your bases. The machine is probably fine, other than the obvious damage to the compound, which are a common feature on many lathes...

Try 'air cuts' ahead of time and spin the chuck with the toolpost at the 'leftmost' position before starting, then get back in that saddle!

GsT

Needless to say I was a bit preoccupied