Coolant For Old Turret Lathe?

E

ecdez

Forum Guest
Register Today
So I'm finally about ready to run my old turret lathe (more info here http://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/bardons-oliver-5.16120/).

Given it's age and the oddball brand there's not much documentation on it but I was able to fine a little on the Bardons and Oliver site. I did find a manual for a very similar model from the same manf and it said you could use high grade water soluble oil coolants or cutting oils. The document references this on page 3 of this file http://www.bardonsoliver.com/pdf/Sa...22UTLInstallationOperationMaintenance2-49.pdf

I'd actually prefer cutting oil but it's got a 10 gallon reservoir and that cutting oil ain't cheap. I'm not a production shop either so it's not like I'm gonna see an instant return on my coolant investment. Given this, I'd like to dilute something down if possible (water soluble).

Several other posts I've read on other sites say not to use soluble oils on the old machines.

Here's my questions.
Anyone here have real world experience with water soluble in an old machine like this?
What cutting fluid would be best for non-stinkin, non-skin irritating and not killing me if I breathe in a few fumes?

I don't know about the newer solubles. But I can tell that the older ones would smell like a sewer if left sitting for a while. Maybe put some bricks or rocks in the tank to take up space and just use 5 gallons of cutting oil ?

Maybe put some bricks or rocks in the tank to take up space and just use 5 gallons of cutting oil ?

That's a good idea right there; didn't even think of it. I've got a 5g pail of mobil 526 but didn't want to buy another one.