Clausing 8520 chatter

Defender92

Registered
Registered
Disclaimer: I’m an amateur and I don’t know what I am doing.

Hello everyone. I picked up a Clausing 8520 about a week ago and couldn’t be happier. I bought a face mill from Amazon (This one) and mated it with an eBay MT2 threaded for my 3/8-18 drawbar. Checked it with an indicator and almost no run out.

I can make aluminum look like glass. Then I try some mild steel and I almost always get chatter. No matter how light of a cut I do.

Am I just pushing the limits of my machine??

I also adjusted my gibbs again and it helped a LITTLE. But it’s almost too tight now.

My 3/8 end mill runs perfectly on all materials. I haven’t collected much other tooling yet besides the face mill and a couple end mills.

36BAE2AC-6607-47C0-B925-4B65FB66E2AF.jpeg
Aluminum
81CEB39F-46B6-4C97-A2D5-3ABF09E2B46C.jpeg
one of the better mild steel cuts
image.jpg
one not so good
image.jpg

Am I just pushing the limits of my machine??
Yes. That face mill exceeds the MT2 collet's ability to remain rigid. If you tried taking only a half cut you might get away with it. In steel, on my machine, I would use a 1" end mill to surface that kind of face. Or try a fly cutter.

Yes. That face mill exceeds the MT2 collet's ability to remain rigid. If you tried taking only a half cut you might get away with it. In steel, on my machine, I would use a 1" end mill to surface that kind of face. Or try a fly cutter.
Thank you. I was worried my machine was wore out or something bad. I’m assuming non ferrous metals should be fine with this face mill as it cut aluminum just fine?

Are you using any cutting fluid at all? And you should have the machine set for the slowest speed possible
The inserts on those face mills often are too "blunt" and for steel require both a very rigid machine and considerable horsepower, which
are lacking on the Clausing