Chucking up a camshaft in the lathe

Pevehouse

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hello all, I am in the process of an engine build and I want to polish 4 small camshaft. I decided it would be easier to do it on my lathe however I have never tried it before and I’m lost as to what the best method would be. I have some small live centers but not sure if they will suffice. Was hoping to get some suggestions. Thanks in advance

First question.
Will the cam fit between centers on your lathe?

You may be best off mounting between centers and using a drive dog with some soft copper or aluminum pads to not scratch the bearings.

How bad is it that you want to polish it? Maybe strips of crocus cloth (or similar) while running the lathe at low speed? Tape the end bearing (a few layers of electrical tape) grab that in a 3 jaw chuck with a tailstock center for the far end.

Hello all, I am in the process of an engine build and I want to polish 4 small camshaft. I decided it would be easier to do it on my lathe however I have never tried it before and I’m lost as to what the best method would be. I have some small live centers but not sure if they will suffice. Was hoping to get some suggestions. Thanks in advance
If you are reinstalling an old cam and using the old lifters I would not do anything to it other than making certain the lifters go back onto the same lobe they were on when you tore it down, its all worn in together.

Edit: further thought, a cam is harder than a witches heart and brittle, be wary they will break like glass...