Chip Breaker for Aluminum?

epanzella

Active User
Registered
I've been doing all steel since I got my lathe a few months ago but just started a project in aluminum. I have some inherited HSS tools that appear to have chip breakers and have some indexable carbide with chip breakers. These both work great on steel with manageable chips that I can pick up with my shop vac. Last nite I started turning aluminum and no tool I had would break the chips. I tried DOC of .030, .050, and .100 and all produce a bushel basket sized cloud of concertina wire with each pass that scares the heck out of me, particularly when it gets snatched by a chuck jaw. The lathe cuts all three DOCs smoothly with a good finish but the swarf seems pretty dangerous. I ended up using a 12 inch long nose pliers to rip away the chip every few seconds to keep it from looking like a monster movie but there's gotta be a better way than this. Is there some special way to break aluminum chips that's different from the way steel chips are handled?

Also keep in mind that some chip breakers have a range of DoC where they work the best. Many will do nothing until you get over 15 thou then they work fine up to 35 thou then start making long (dangerous) curls beyond that. You're taking some pretty deep cuts. How much stock do you need to remove? Anyhow try 20 or 25 thou or maybe try a different brand of insert with a different breaker style. Is the breaker getting packed-up and clogged?

Anyhow, aluminum does tend to birdnest so, you're not alone.

Ray

Sometimes it's the alloy. Pure aluminum is very soft and very ductile, both properties that work against chip management. Other alloys are less so, and easier to get a chip to break. And it's not all about DoC, feedrate has a tremendous bearing on breaking chips. Speed also, as warm or hot aluminum is more likely to bend than to break. Coolant and high speed and feed often break a chip fairly well in the common alloys of aluminum.