Carriage backlash issues

Babyseal

Registered
Registered
Bought a used lathe, Sheldon 10". It's in really good shape other than being encrusted in 3 decades worth of crud from sitting. I'm new at this BTW, so still pretty clueless.

2x non-elbow grease issues noted;

(1) Had a 1" drill bit chucked in the tailstock, frozen in place. Pulled the tailstock spindle, gently tapped the bit (chuck and all) out with a tie rod puller. Predictably, they'd spun the bit and galled the shank (and spindle). Solution? My guess is to re-ream the spindle to MT #2. Y/N?

(2) Excessive backlash in the carriage. On examination, they'd ran it with the bolt that goes into the cross-feed nut loose. Bolt itself is worn. Work the carriage crank, watch it flop around. This brings up multiple sub-issues.

(a) It looks like it's the wrong bolt. It's fully threaded, the wear is on the threads. Looks to me like this should have a bolt with a shoulder where it goes through the top of the lower slide and threads into the nut. Y/N?
(b) Should the new bolt (shouldered or not), be hard or soft? My guess is about a grade 5. Not too hard, not too soft. Or is hard better, as long as it's properly tightened and not working back and forth on the threads?
(b2) Wouldn't a spring washer on the bolt help take up play?
(c) The threads in the cross-feed nut (the bolt threads, not the feed screw) took some damage. I'm pretty sure, run a bottom tap through it, keep it tightened properly, it'll be a non-issue. Do that, fix the rest, see how it goes? I'd probably have to have a new cross-feed nut made. Parts for Sheldons seem to be thin on the ground.
(c) How much wear is acceptable in the cross-feed nut? There's noticeable (1-2 degrees/1/32") play when I rock it back and forth on the feed screw. Almost zero play trying to work it along the axis of the feed screw (like it would work being cranked).