Can a SB 9C....have the Quick change gears [SB 9B] added to it?

Bobbycoke

Registered
Registered
hi I am a newbie here [in life an oldie] and purchased a South Bend 9C lathe like my dad had when I was young and learnt a little metal butchering on........I wanted a 9B or A but the lathes great condition & massive amount of quality tooling at an unbelievable price made it a no brainer..........I do not really need the power cross feed [9A] but like the idea of the quick change gears.....can this be modified.....is ths doable what needs to be added/removed to accomplish this????? I can use as is and manually change gears just would like to know what I should look for at flea-bay or at auctions........Oh by the way I am the original thrifty yankee so $$ is an object! Thanks for any and all input........bobbycoke

Halligan142 YouTube channel has a series of videos showing his upgrade of a 9B to 9A. A lot of this may be relevant for you but worth watching in any case to get an idea of what is involved.

This is the first video in the series, you can navigate to the others from here.

Southbend 9in gearbox conversion part 1

Halligan142 YouTube channel has a series of videos showing his upgrade of a 9B to 9A. A lot of this may be relevant for you but worth watching in any case to get an idea of what is involved.

This is the first video in the series, you can navigate to the others from here.

Southbend 9in gearbox conversion part 1

You can do anything if you put enough effort into it. I saw a sliding transmission QCGB made completely from scratch for an HF 7x10 once.