Budget 115pcs Stub Length Cobalt Drill Set?

MaverickNH

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I’m looking for a budget <$150 115pcs Stub (Screw Machine) dill set for use with my 7x16 mini-lathe, cobalt M35 135 degree preferred. I’m sure they’re out there, but I can find one that doesn’t say Jobber length or costs $350+. Any help appreciated.

I’ll subscribe to the idea of replacing the often-used drills with high quality US-made drills as I go along.

BRET

Last edited:
I've had pretty good luck buying from these folks:

Ted
Thanks. Maybe I should buy good drills in stages at $150-$200 per set? Of the separate sets below, which would I find more commonly used? I’m a novice, so will be doing simpler work for a while.

1/16" - 1/2" by 64ths
A - Z
No. 1 - 60

I would definitely go with the fractional set first (1/16 - 1/2). Next would be the Number set as they are needed often as tap drill sizes. Letter drills are also used for tap drill sizes, but not nearly as frequently. Sometimes the Number and Letter drills are just needed for a hole size that is in between the standard fractional sizes.
Ted

I was fortunate to find a 115 pc U.S. made stub drill set on CL for $150. Even more fortunately, they guy was willing to ship. Those damn sets are expensive!

FWIW, if you're looking to buy separate sets as you go, I bought this Cleveland 29 piece set 9 years ago. 1/16”-1/2” in 1/64” steps. It has served me well.