Brazing new gear teeth on a sailboat propeller.

Eddyde

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
Staff member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi All,
A friend of mine is restoring a 42' sailboat the "Anna" he bought in Portsmouth RI over a year ago. I helped him sail her to Kingston, NY last August, which was quite an adventure....
The other day, he found some of the gear teeth on the propeller blades to be worn (sailboat propellers fold flat when not in use to reduce drag), stripped and asked if I could repair them. I feel confident I can do the machining, but have some questions and problems to work out before I get started.
1. I am not 100% sure of the material. My research so far found, Nickel-Bronze-Aluminum is a common alloy used in such propellers and has a more yellow "Brassy" color, than the more common Bronzes, so that is my best guess. Is there any way to test it?
2. I have no experience brazing Bronze. Is it possible to simply build up the teeth by laying down beads of filler, or do I have to braze on individual teeth?
3. What is the best way to determine the pitch & pressure angle of the existing teeth?
4. Another approach would be to machine out all the teeth and braze in a semicircular piece of material and then machine the new teeth, Or braze on semicircular pieces of gear rack with pre-machined teeth. Another option to that approach would be to cut the sections out of an existing gear, if one could be found with the correct diameter, and braze them in place. Both those approaches eliminate me having to exactly match the existing gear-tooth geometry so I am starting to think they may be the best option but I am open to suggestions?

Has anyone here done anything like this before?

Thanks in advance for your input and advice,

Eddy

IMG_2135.jpeg
IMG_2133.jpeg