Brand New to Machining

J.R.M

Registered
Registered
Good Mornin',
I'm just getting into machining as a hobbyist. My grandfather has a smithy 3-in-1 that he's had for a long time and never really messed with it so he doesn't know much about it or how to use it Not sure what tooling he has for it so here are a few questions I did not see quite addressed in a few of the beginner threads I read through. What would be some staple tooling to acquire? Things like end mills and what not. I'd like to do a small project on it to get my feet wet. I'm going to make a small anvil from a piece of railroad track and I'd like to mill the top to get it nice and flat. If I missed some threads that address this I apologize, please direct me towards them. Like I said, I'm brand new to the machining world so forgive any ignorance, as the old proverb goes "A journey of a thousand miles starts with one step." Thanks, folks.
-J.R

Welcome to the forum! I don't have that type of machine so won't add anything other than a link (below) to the Smithy forum home page here. You should find lots of info there! Again, welcome!

Bruce

Welcome to the forum!
You'll find the folks here are very supportive and willing to help us newbies. :D

Welcome to the forum! I don't have that type of machine so won't add anything other than a link (below) to the Smithy forum home page here. You should find lots of info there! Again, welcome!

Bruce

Hey I appreciate that!

Lots of luck trying to machine RR Track, it can be quite hard and tough.
So I've heard as well but I've seen it done on youtube. That means absolutely nothing to a newbie like myself, for all I know the folks I watched had some very expensive, high quality tools that enabled them to machine something like that.