Bought a lathe and a milling machine.

discus

Registered
Registered
Hey Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forum. Thought I would share my latest two craiglist purchases. Interested in opionions on how I did cost wise. I know everyone likes pictures so I included a few. First is an Atlas 3991 lathe I bought from a retired gentleman. He used it to cut armatures on power tool motors. I got it for $550 with some tooling. Came with 3 and 4 jaw chucks, straight left and right bit holders, boring bar holder, faceplate and a bunch of extra gears I assume was standard with purchase when it was new. The lathe seems pretty tight. A few minor nicks in the ways under the spindle but otherwise looks like it has been reasonably cared for. I'm waiting for some new grommets from clausing to set it on before I level the base and get everything hooked up and ready to run.

DSC01569.JPG