1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Best way to put a deep Blind hole in something.

Discussion in 'A BEGINNER'S FORUM (Learn How To Machine Here!)' started by kvt, May 19, 2017.

1. kvt

kvt Active User Active Member

City:
    San Antonio
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

Ok, another question from a self taught hobby person. It is probably simple but.
    I have a large piece of steel round that I need to put about a 10 inch deep blind hole in. But do not have a drill bit long enough, and large enough to get hole started to even bore it out. The hole I need will be approx. 10 inch deep, and just over 3/4 inch 0.750 in dia, with a steel ball in the end that another shaft just under the 0.750 size would ride against. (other though was a thrust bearing rather than the steel ball). Any ideas. I know I could go purchase a long drill bit, but have not found one that is about the right length that I can get/afford at present. Any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. markba633csi

markba633csi United States Active Member Active Member

City:
    Mountain View
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-

Probably would need to make an extended drill bit by welding a shaft onto a standard size bit. It's commonly done.
    Mark S.

gregc, westsailpat and Bob Korves like this.
  3. EmilioG

EmilioG United States Active User H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    HUNTINGTON
    State:
    New York

-Return to Top-

Extended length drills past 9" cost about $100 from McMaster Carr. Maybe an extension holder can be used to reach the 12" depth with a long drill.

4. kvt

City:
    San Antonio
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

Mark, I would have to be a better welder than I currently do. have not done much in years, thus not very good at it any more. But if it comes down to it I may give it a try.