Bench space

rabler

Addlepated tinkerer
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
When I built my new shop, I decided to be a bit unconventional in layout. Most people put bigger machines along the walls. I decided to put my commonly used machines in an island layout, and surround them with workbenches. While I'm still working on getting everything organized in the shop (never enough shelf space!!), I've been using the shop for a few months now. I have to say, I **really** like this layout. The picture below shows my mill table and the bench behind it. Enough room to comfortably stand in front of the mill, but I can keep all sorts of things on the workbench right behind me, tools, drawings, parts for fit up, etc, and they are right there, handy.

Now admittedly this is not the most space-efficient layout, But I have about 40' of bench space in a U-shape around my my main work area. I tend to work on multiple projects at the same time. With this much bench space, I have room to leave those projects laying on the benches, ready to jump back in whenever I'm ready. I don't have to clear off space, stow an incomplete project, or worry about mixing up project parts when disassembling something.

I made my benches by using 2x8" yellow pine boards, spaced out to give a 32" wide bench, supported every 6' by a cross brace, and legs every 12'. Then I covered the yellow pine boards with 3/4" BCX plywood, rounded the front edge, filled the seams, and painted it with Sherwin-Williams industrial urethane alkyd enamel. The benches are solid. The painted tops have held up well, including being resistant to mineral oil, WD-40, and even dykem high spot.

Only thing I would do differently if I had to do-over would be to use 2x6 rather than 2x8 for the front lip under the top.

IMG_4913.JPG