ball radius turner needed

joebiplane

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am looking for a radius ball turning tool to use on my emco/maier compact 8 lathe to complete a project i am working on
I am a beginner at machining so un-able to take on building one from scratch so i am looking for perhaps one that i can modify to use on my lathe or perhaps a very simple desigh ( as opposed to Steve B's beautiful design but difficult for a beginner to construct me thinks :eek: )

Joe

Keep your eyes open on Fleabay for a Holdridge Radii Cutter. I just got the 8D and it is massive, you could probably go smaller say a 3 or a 4.

There is also a fairly simple design that mounts in the boring bar holder for a QCTP. Will see if I can dig it up.

Here it is

http://hobby-machinist.com/index.php?topic=54.0 Reply #6

Walter

Are you turning the balls from steel or something softer?

If in brass you can actually make balls for handles for example by using the same technique as wood turning. Use the top of the tool post or some other firmly attached tool rest and use a long sturdy file that you have shaped to a point and leave the top flat and shape the ball. I have done it years ago with some trepidation but the old tool maker said to go for it and it worked. In brass or plastic the cuts are not deep and the chips fly off like a spray.

Now if it is brass or plastic it works, but for steel or gummy stuff like copper, first rough turn and then file to shape while spinning in the lathe is the best way.

thanks guys,
i'll try both your suggestions. Iwill be turniog 6061 aluminium I will eventually build a turner but i was hoping to be able to buy one at a reasonable price. i will need to turn a 2" to 2 1/4" ball ( actually a half ball) it is the front crancase cover of a dummy radial engine for a static display model
joe

It's a crazy sounding idea, but there is a way to more or less make a sort of "tracer" with very little effort. Try this on for size: