[Newbie] Are these end mills junk or can they be reground?

kilohertz

Registered
Registered
I just bought a small Atlas MFB and it came with good used tooling, but also some well used or abused tooling. I am just learning about machining and don't know if these can be ground back to a usable condition or do these go into the bin. I have quite a few to go through and don't want to keep them if they are trash.

Could someone please let me know if these are at all re-usable? I put in 5 of various damage as an example.

Thank you.

cheers

IMG_1866.JPG

I would trash them as end mills , but keep them for grinding up other tools . I never throw anything away that can be re-purposed such as the above . :encourage:

Thanks for the quick reply. Could you please give me an example of how I could use them? As mentioned, I'm learning machining late in life and this is all new to me.

Thank you.

Wow, looks like somebody really inexperienced was using those-or trying to
You could perhaps make crude boring bars out of a couple of them, and possibly internal threading tools
All you need is a bench grinder and some patience

Last edited:
To answer your original question YES they can be reground. I bought a dozen 1" 4 flute HSS mills in similar condition for $.99 each when I wanted to learn how to sharpen them on my surface grinder. I built a fixture to sharpen the peripheral cutting edges and had a commercial one to do the ends.

The reality of it is as mmcmdl said it really isn't worth it to send them to a grinding service, or even do it yourself unless you're using them to refine your technique. The'll probably end up several sizes smaller before the nicks can be removed and you may all but eliminate the flute.