Are smithy lathe combo s all there cracked up to be?

walterk

Registered
Registered
I'm looking to get my first lathe/mill at the first of the year, I like the smithy but not sure it will live up to the hype! I have been a machinist for 4 years but have gotten out of the work environment do to better job offer closer to home in the oilfield! But I miss machining and am ready to do so work of my own! Any thoughts or suggestion would be great!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Personally I would invest in a separate lathe and mill. I had the larger Smthy CB1239 for the past 15+ years and I made it work for my application until I finally decided to upgrade. The unit was a fair lathe but a poor milling machine. The round column being only one of the issues. Its' size is very limiting and setup takes a lot more time because the toolpost needs to be removed from lathe mode to put work on the table for mill mode.

The nicest feature of the unit is its space savings ability.

Mike.

If I answer this,Smithy owners will be offended. I have seen some good work done on them. A good machinist can make nearly any machine work,though. The time factor usually is not considered in a home shop situation. I always have had separate machines,and lathes with quick change gear boxes.

Smithy's seem to be something that nobody ever wants to talk about.

I bought a Smithy Granite 1324 brand new because I needed a machine that could go to work right out of the box and make some parts. Space was very limited and I had no room for two machines. The Smithy did all that it was advertised to do. It was a pretty damn good lathe and the mill aspect of the machine turned out some fine quality parts as long as I worked within the machine's limits.