[Newbie] am i a hobby machinist?

JBrentMac

Active User
Registered
I'm working as a machinist in a tool shop, and i've been in the trade for a few years. I guess you could say i'm a toolmaker-in-training. I'm working on making some of my own tools to build-up my toolbox on my lunch breaks. i also want to make some simple toys for my kids(trains, cars, tractors, a bank, that kinda old school stuff).
I guess my question is: if i have a passion for doing this, am i a hobby machinist if i don't have a shop in my garage and, so far, am only doing what i've described above?
also, how many of you out there do this for a living and not just a hobby?

yep if you enjoy working with metal your hooked into our club
steve

Well, I don't do this as a hobby, but I am a machinist and have been since I was 15 working part time after school. I am semi-retired, and work on special projects part time in my own shop. I can't recall the last thing I did just for "fun". I enjoy the work, I get paid rather well for what I do, but when I shut down the shop for the day, I generally don't have a yen to go back and play. Maybe when I fully retire. My off-time (is there really such a thing?) is eaten up by other pursuits. One of which also pays pretty well, and that is messing about with Biomedical infrastructure and a few other things at a hospital system that owns 15 hospitals in the region, and about 50 stand-alone clinics. Miscellaneous electrical and mechanical repairs and cable runs, TV installs for upgrades, new construction and remodels. I keep busy enough.

But anyone who uses machines to simply amuse themselves, or make things just because they want to......they're hobby machinists no matter where the machines are.