Advice on CNC'ing my new Sieg SX3 mill

machspace

Registered
Registered
Hey guys,

This is my first post (after my new member one). I just ordered a Sieg SX3 mill, to be delivered next week. I'm a metallurgical/materials engineer, but new to metalworking. I am interested in CNC'ing my machine from the start, and as such, welcome any/all commentary and/or advice.

Here is my breakdown so far.

Re: Leadscrews, I like the ProMiCA kit, the way the steppers are oriented, and the use of pullies/belts. However, there were interference problems with the SX3 (versus X3), and they subsequently pulled support for SX3s, so I think that's a non-starter. More research required, but if ProMiCA isn't in the cards, the CNCFusion Deluxe kit is looking promising.

Re: Control electronics, I'm looking into either Gecko 540, or separate 203V stepper controllers. I learned from TangentAudio/Steve on YouTube (excellent guy and videos, take a look at them if you get a chance) that I may want an FPGA board to offload the higher level stepper commands from the CPU.

Re: Software, I will be using LinuxCNC (I like OpenSource).

Thank you!

I'm still in the middle of converting my X2 with a CNC Fusion full kit and so far I'm happy with it.

I'm just now finishing up a clean slate rebuild of a couple Win XP PCs for running Mach 3, so I don't think I'll be of much help with the Linux part. As far as taking the load off the PC CPU, I'll be using a UC100 cable for that task. It has the added benefit of allowing it to hook up via USB as well. They're a bit pricey @ around $130 so I won't be picking up mine until payday next month.