[Newbie] Advice On Brand to Purchase

Sandia

Active User
Registered
Don't know if this is the correct forum for this post, but here goes. I am contemplating purchasing a mill as soon as possible, but I don't know a lot about them having never operated one. I do have a 13X40 lathe that I have pretty much self taught myself to operate, so have some machining experience.

Here is the deal, I have an opportunity to do some machine work for a friend's business that requires drilling and tapping 1/2 to 1 inch NPT pipe threads in pipe flanges used in the oilfield. The machine shops that do the work for them now, drill and tap the flanges in a bridgeport mill. I am planning on taking some milling courses this fall at the local college to help me out.

One of my questions is which mill to buy. Seems the bridgeport is the desired brand but the only affordable ones are up in age. The new stuff you can purchase is Chinese made or similar and seem to be not as good quality. Would you guys have some advice or opinions on what to purchase and maybe some suggested vendors to deal with. I have found several mostly up in the NE of the US but know nothing about their integrity. Bridgeports in Texas are far and few between and those you find are pretty rough shape.

Sorry for the long post fellows but I wanted to give you some background info. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. :thinking:

I just purchased a zx45 from wholesale tools and converted it to cnc, I was very impressed with the purchase it was 2hp not 1-1/2 like the add says and upon disassembly everything was a very nice fit and finish. mine cost $1800 and this mill in enco grizzley or the others is over $3000.
another option you may concider if looking for old industrial iron is a radial drill press, in most cases they would not have had the constant use a mill may have had and be lower in cost. since tapping is part of your play you may want to concider 3 phase for instant changes in direction.