About to buy my first Lathe/Mill, Help!

dbmaximus

Registered
Registered
I graduated from a machine tool technolgy program about 8 years ago but never worked in the area. I am about to buy a lathe or lathe mill combo for hobby gunsmithing but know nothing about machine quaility. I Have $4000 to spend and have been looking at mill/lathe combos. What are your opinions on these, and what can I get for 4K. I've been looking at grizzly and smithy combo machines but I'm sure there are others in my price range. I recently read that grizzly machines are not to good though, so I am leary of what to buy. Any help is appreciated.

Please consider strongly your thinking on a combo machine! They have a very bad reputation across the board. Of course there are a few owners that seem to like them, but by far the majority of comments on them - all of them - is dismal. The lathe can be pretty good, but the mill is usually a real pain. Do some research, google them and do some reading.

For 4 grand you can get a quite nice stand alone lathe and mill and be a far happier camper.

I have read that they were kind of a pain. I forgot to ask if buying two separate machines would save me major headaches.

What level of hobby gunsmithing. General repair, pistol building, rifle building. The first two are easily done with a small lathe, while barreling rifles is easier done on a larger one. And like has been said, two separate machines will be much easier to use and save a lot of set-up time.
Bobby

I mainly want to build flash suppressors, thread barrels, build rifles, I think about everything :D

I am really just learning to do gunsmith work so about everything interest me right now. I dont even really want to limit myself to gunsmithing. Just looking for a fun hobby.

I cast my vote for separates also. There are many lathes and mills you can get for your budget, but be aware that tooling up is a major expense as well, and you should keep it in mind.