6 Inch-Self Centering Chuck

Sundossa12

Active User
Registered
I have a Craftsman 6 Inch, Model Number 101.07301 I would like to find a self centering chuck. Ive seen them on Ebay and different vendors but Im overwhelmed with the selection. Can anyone recommend a decent chuck that will not break the bank. Im just starting out and the independent chuck justs take the fun out of it.

Thanks

I am not speaking from my experience here, but based on what others have reported. Shars offers some chucks that others have reported on favorably, decent quality with a reasonable price.

Sundossa,

For the 6" 101.07301, Sears originally sold two versions of a 4" diameter 3-jaw chuck. The cheaper one was tightened by a handwheel and pin spanner. The slightly more expensive one was tightened with a square key driving a gear in the side of the chuck. I would go for the latter, personally. You shouldn't put anything larger than a 4" on the machine.

The first thing to check when looking at an assortment of 4" 3-jaw chucks is how they attach to the spindle. The spindle nose threads on your machine are 1"-8. So a chuck with anything other than that will not fit and can be ignored. For example, the Atlas 618 and the later Craftsman version, 101.21400, has 1"-10 spindle nose threads. Chucks for those machines will not fit yours. Chucks advertised on eBay as being for Atlas and Craftsman 6" lathes will almost always (unless the seller is clueless) be 1"-10.

You may also see some chucks advertised as "flat back". These have no spindle mount. You will have to buy or make a backing plate with 1"-8 female threads and fit it to the chuck. I wouldn't recommend you try that as a first lathe project, even though a 4" 4-jaw will just chuck a 4" backing plate.

Robert D.