1994 Enco 110-1340 (13 X 40) lathe.

Zigeuner

Registered
Registered
Back around the early 1990's I decided to get into Hobby metal workiing. I had been fabricating things and welding them for many years but I decided that a lathe would be an excellent item to add to my complement of tools.

With that in mind, I started looking in my local area, Sacramento, CA, for something made in America. Remember, this was before the advent of eBay and the height of the internet. There was one local machinery seller who handled used equipment. He did indeed have some lathes, some of them were even made in the U.S. Sadly, they and the other Chinese and Taiwanese lathes that he had were obviously totally worn out. I'm talking about dings, dents, cracks, missing parts and grime with obvious wear in the bed area. He wasn't into machine restoration. He would buy machines, put them on the floor at inflated prices and then just stand back. He had nothing in his store for less than $2,000 either, and it wasn't looking good.

After about a year of frustration looking at ads for auctions and considering shpping costs, I looked at an Enco ad. At that time, they still had their brick and mortar stores. The closest one was San Jose, CA. I took my pickup truck and wife and we took a trip to San Jose.

The one I liked the most, mainly since it wasn't too big to fit in the truck, and also because if was in my price range ($2,500 max.) was their 13 X 40" model 110-1340. It came in the crate for $2,300 plus tax out the door. It had the typical complement of accessories like D1-4, 3 jaw and 4 jaw chucks, steady and follow rests, lantern toolpost, back plate, 2 hp single phase motor, etc.

Fortunately, my 1/2 ton Chevy pickup had been fitted with 3/4 ton springs because the crate weighed 1,500 pounds. When they loaded the crate onto the truck, it went down about three inches but we made it home.