Threading Inserts: 11ER: A60, AG60?

Splat

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Need to turn some hardened steel and ordered a set of Accusize SCLC toolholders since I've read good things about them. The set has an SER threading tool holder that uses 11ER inserts. I've never done carbide threading before, only HSS. I see the A60 covers a smaller range of pitch, 16-48, and the AG60 covers 8-48. What is the benefit of using the AG60 over the A60? Is the A60 more robust and thusly lasts longer? For steel and stainless is one better than the other? Thanks.

I see the A60 covers a smaller range of pitch, 16-48, and the AG60 covers 8-48. What is the benefit of using the AG60 over the A60?

I saw the alert so it looks like you already saw it but here's that part quoted from that thread. :)

A60 covers 16-48 TPI
AG60 covers 8-48 TPI
G60 covers 8-14 TPI

Those are the most common. There are others that will cover down to 2.75 TPI.

I use 20 TPI quite often so I have full profile inserts for that. But I also use A60 inserts. You might ask why I use A60 if AG60 covers everything A60 can? Since AG60 covers coarser thread, the threading tip is wider & longer. I never need to thread coarse threads but most importantly, the smaller & narrower tip on the A60 allows me to get closer to a shoulder, in a small thread relief, or oring groove.