Spindle bearings question Enco 110-2073

Cashflow

Registered
Registered
Gentlemen:

This is my first post, if it is in the wrong place please move it. I am rebuilding the headstock on my lathe. This question is about the spindle bearings. When I removed the bearing races they were not installed all the way flush against the machined step. I measured the distance from the back of the race to the step which was .206 and I ordered new bearings and today I went to install them. Every bearing on any other job I have ever installed the race was always installed flush against the machined step. So my question being are the races on these spindle bearings supposed to be installed flush against the step or do I need to install them to the same measurement they were when I tore the headstock apart? It doesn’t make sense to me that they weren’t installed flush but since I’ve never done this job before I have to profess my ignorance on this subject. What say you? Flush or not? Thanks in advance to those that have experience with this.

It may be that the factory bored the holes so tight that they found they could only install them so far- so they stopped short
You might want to carefully measure that. You could enlarge the bores slightly with emery cloth on a stick- tedious but doable

You have to expect almost anything on import machinery could be slightly too tight or too loose

Mark, thanks very much for your reply. I hadn’t thought of that, I do know after starting this project that someone (previous owner) has been in here before. I will look things over carefully but at first glance it appears that I can seat the races all the way against the machined steps. If upon trying to install the spindle and it appears not to be a problem with spacing then I will go ahead and seat them all the way.