Rutland Mill Model 26660531 Any Good?

Malinkalauran

Registered
Registered
Currently I have a HF mini mill and am looking for something bigger for knifemaking. A Rutland mill is for sale near my home but I am a novice and know nothing about this brand. Does anyone have experience with this mill?

This looks like many of the round column Mill Drills.

Your HF mill is a "square column" mill. These allow you to move the mill head up and down the full length of travel and still stay aligned in "Z" ("zero'd" in). Many people like these, but I want to make that apparent to you.

If it is a really good deal, it will definitely increase your machining capabilities. It is much beefier than your HF Minimill, and has a much greater work envelope, table size and movement.

Just be careful that the 5 inches of spindle travel is enough for the work you are doing. Otherwise you have to move the head up on the round column and "zero" it to your work again.

Bernie

I am fairly sure that the Rutland (now part of MSC) is a Rong Fu if that helps you any.

Currently I have a HF mini mill and am looking for something bigger for knifemaking. A Rutland mill is for sale near my home but I am a novice and know nothing about this brand. Does anyone have experience with this mill?