Question about machining shafts and holes

swirnoff

Registered
Registered
As a beginner, I have a chicken-and-egg type question.

In general, if I have a shaft and matching hole to machine, is it better practice to make the hole first and machine the shaft to fit, or the other way around? The shaft will be a loose press fit (I think that's the right term...or maybe interference fit).

This is for a hand operated device, so nothing in it spinning at blinding speeds which might cause a catastrophic failure. In case that matters.

Unless you have a set of machine reamers which produce precise holes or you can bore the hole to a precise size, then it's usually
easier to machine the shaft to fit the hole

I also find fitting the shaft to the hole is easier (you can always run a file over a shaft to take that last little bit but that’s kind of hard to do in a hole), but I’d also consider how you’re able to check for fit. If both pieces are small and easily handled, great. But if one is awkward or difficult to manipulate it may influence which operation you do first.

Thank you all. I have a Sherline benchtop mill and a 1939 Atlas 6" lathe. It'll be exciting to figure out how to make the 2 machines play well together.

Considering that you are making an interference fit, you won't be able to use one part to test the other. I would make the hole first and a test plug that is slightly smaller than the shaft diameter. Make the hole to fit the test plug as a tight slip fit and then turn the shaft to the required slightly larger diameter. You are talking about a thousandth difference or less.

When making tight tolerance mating parts, I find it useful to turn a test plug with a range of diameters varying by a half thou or so which allows me to sneak up on the final dimension without overshooting.