Help me find a lathe for my small-ish space

loverollercoaster

Registered
Registered
Hi, beginner here looking for a lathe for my barely 1 car garage, assuming the Christmas bonus comes in well this year =).

Uses: Parts for robots, drones, rockets, and maybe some model engineering. I work with a lot of metric, so metric threading is a plus but not a hard requirement (change gears are fine). I'd like something capable of precision work, so that if I ever become skilled enough in the future I can work on things like custom optical bench tooling.

Space: Garage with a concrete floor. Hoping to keep it under 70" long, ideally 64" or less. Width wise, less than 36".

Electrical: 220 available, and I have a 100amp subpanel.

Condition: I'd like something that's mostly ready to run. A little chipped paint or some smaller fixes are fine, but not a full fixer-upper.

Budget: A tooled up PM 1236T with most of the bells and whistles is about 11 grand delivered, so let's call that the very top end. I don't own anything that can tow, so the used budget needs to consider either machine movers or a truck and trailer rental. So I'm thinking maybe 5-6,000 for a lightly tooled machine, to leave room for moving it and basic tooling.

Right now the front runner is a Precision Matthews 1236T, but I'd like to know what comparable used iron I should be keeping an eye out for on the auction sites.

The things that I'm keeping an eye out for right are Clausing Colchester 13s, and an under priced Hardinge HLV-H (yeah, right).

Are there other relatively small footprint old iron lathes that I should be looking for? The market around here seems to have a lot of pretty beat up looking atlas lathes, and some 14x40 or larger lathes that are just too much for my garage, but not a ton in between.

Thanks in advance,
-Tim