F/R Switched While Running, Single Phase Motor

sailfish-007

Registered
Registered
Dear All,

I'm NEW and happy to have found this site.

I'm just getting started with a barely used Mill Drill machine. 2HP. Single phase 240V motor.

Issue: While it was running, the F/R switch was flipped by accident from F to R before the motor comes to a complete stop. After that, it won't run in either F or R. Power is live at the outlet 240V. No burnt smell.

Is there a chance that the US Motor was burnt? Could it be a Capacitor? Is there an overload switch that got burnt? No fuse was found on the machine.

Thank you in advance
J

There’s the possibility that the thermal switch has been compromised. It is internal of the motor.
The on/off switch could have been compromised as well
The capacitor could be open
The centrifugal start switch could be burnt
Wire connections could be faulty

Probably a loose wire, possibly from the power cord, in the F/R switch. If the motor hadn't slowed enough to re-engage the internal
start switch then you can rule out the capacitor and the internal switch as culprits- they'd still be open circuit at that moment.
As flipping the switch was the last thing you did, I'd look there first
Turn off power of course before opening anything up
The thermal button or the F/R switch itself could also be faulty as Mike mentioned

Last edited:
Greetings J and welcome to HM!

The motor itself is likely OK. You are getting great advice so I'm sure you will determine
what went wrong. Good luck.