Considering Buying a King 1236ML Looking for Opinions

Jason Silliker

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, new member here, thanks for letting me join. I’m sure I’m going to find lots of useful information here.
Just a little background, I’ve been a Millwright since 1996, Licensed Red Seal in 2001. Our workplace has recently offered second trades for us, and so “ON PAPER ONLY LOL” I’m a block three machinist but have a very minimal hours.
Anyway, I have a guy about 10 minutes away from me that has a King 1236 lathe in really good condition. Just looking for a small lathe to use around home and put some hours in (non-apprenticeship hours obviously). I was originally thinking a 1440 or so but here in PEI Canada they are few and far between locally.
He’s asking 4000 Which new, not on sale is about half price, right now they generally sell for 6000 on sale and another 500 to 700 for the stand. Just looking for guys opinions, etc. It’s just going to be for minimal home shop use, but I do work with a lot of mild steel. Just wondering how well it will turn bushings, small shaft, pins, etc..

Going to spend some time on the forums making a list of do’s and don’ts and general practices as far as shop temperature settings, general care, etc. etc. I know the basics but feel free to FLOOD me with all your titbits of information lol.

Thanks,
Jason

Last edited:
If the King is made in Taiwan, it would be just fine for what you are doing.
Avoid the mainland China lathes, the QC is very poor

It appears to be a version of the Grizzly G4003, might be worth reviewing the previous discussion on that lathe.

Yeah, I read that one I didn’t really want to start a new thread, but I’m hoping this one will become a kind of personal one for once I get it and get it home and set up etc.