Can you tell me what these tools are?

yooperfella

Registered
Registered
I'm new to machining and purchased a bunch of old tools and I need help in knowing what they are and used for, I'm hoping someone hereIMG_0035.JPG IMG_0036.JPG IMG_0037.JPG IMG_0038.JPG IMG_0042.JPG IMG_0045.JPG IMG_0047.JPG might know? I appreciate any help.

You have top left a revolution counter top right ditto
next row left ditto, right trammel points (use like a compass for scribing lines)
left, another revolution counter right some sort of micrometer stop, use unknown
bottom left, same micrometer thing.
The rev. counters are used to record the number of revolutions that a rotating member makes, used in conjunction with a watch with second hand.

I'm sure the item in the first photo is called senior moment or brain *&^%, because I've never used one but have asked what it's purpose is when I picked it up. Someone please help!

The 4th photo shows trammel points, and they are used for layout work. They are connected together with a bar (round, square, triangle). The one with the pencil attachment is used similar to a compass for mechanical drawings. In essence, a pair of dividers or compass, stretched out.

I'm sure the item in the first photo is called senior moment or brain *&^%, because I've never used one but have asked what it's purpose is when I picked it up. Someone please help!

The 4th photo shows trammel points, and they are used for layout work. They are connected together with a bar (round, square, triangle). The one with the pencil attachment is used similar to a compass for mechanical drawings. In essence, a pair of dividers or compass, stretched out.
Russ, the tool in the first three pictures is a Starrett revolution counter, used with a watch or stopwatch to determine rpm, or by itself to just count revolutions. There are lots of them around, they must have been really useful before electronics came into play.