CAM Alternatives in 2024

jdeng

Registered
Registered
I did a search of the site for “CAM” and didn’t find much recent discussion so I figured I’d be that guy.

I have a perpetual license of Solidworks (2022). I love it and have been using some version for 20 years now. Nowadays they include CAMWorks if you keep your subscription active AND they make you pay for a two year subscription even with the perpetual license. Yeesh. I won’t be continuing the subscription when it expires (because aside from the CAM, I find zero value in it) and will need to find a CAM solution.

I have a Tormach PCNC440 and I’m pretty new to cnc in general. Even with all the years of Solidworks experience I found CAMWorks to be pretty difficult. But I put the effort in and, with some finesse, I can usually make the program do what I want. It often makes horrible decisions (like unnecessarily slot cutting, for instance) but it’s fine.

Very long winded intro: at that price point of $1000 what are my options? I see HSMWorks is 700/year. Anyone used OneCNC? I’d prefer perpetual licenses even if it means I don’t get product support. Bc I never use product support.

I also have VCarve Pro for my router but I can’t really figure out how to do 3 axis with it. Also the post doesn’t really work. Maybe I’m missing something here…. I like their software and would sure like to make that work if it’s possible.

I know (or expect) this question has a hundred different answers from a hundred different people but I’d welcome any discussion y’all are willing to have.

I don't think VCarve does 3 axis. If you like that program, you might try Aspire. Though it doesn't seem like it's really intended for non flat carving of wood. You can adjust speeds and feeds to use it on metal. Though it's not really intended for that. Looks like that runs about 2k. I haven't used either other than the free trials.

Fusion is subscription, but the CAM works pretty well.