Xaxis Trouble For A Newby

Doublearrow

Registered
Registered
I've got an old rusnok mill mounted on a different base I can't recall at the moment. I don't do much work on the mill but it comes in handy when knifemaking. My problem is milling left to right. If I piece that's known to be flat/parallel mounted on the table or on parallels in the vice and I try to take say .010 off the top of the piece the further I move to the left the more it takes off. I can't make a flat parallel piece. In my mind it's not a tram issue because if the head is tilted 45° it will be filed the same 45 all the way across the table and not dig in further left to right. Any ideas? I've tried you tube videos and such but don't see anything that deals with this issue. I'm just learning as I go.

It seems as the table is not perpendicular to the column. The table may be possible to shim.

It could be any number of issues or combination of issues.

How are you holding your work (knife)? Is the machine clean and free of chips inside? Are the gibs tight and properly adjusted? Does the table have low spots? Is the spindle tight? Do you have the other axes locked when moving in X?

Mount an indicator so that you can trace the table position in the -Z- axis to see if it "falls off" as you move to the extreme ends. It's not uncommon for wear to allow the weight of a table to cause it to tilt, for lack of a better word, as you get off center. If the ways are worn, and the gibs are adjusted to be correct in the center third of travel (as is common), it may also tighten up towards the end. But just because it's tight doesn't mean it's straight.