Would You Upgrade To A Larger Mill Or Cnc Current Mill?

shooter123456

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone. I am new to the forum so I thought I would introduce myself. I am 20 years old and I am pretty new to machining. I have had a Harbor Freight mini mill for almost 6 months now and I have at least 100 hours using it. I work mostly with aluminum but I have done a little bit with 303 stainless. With my mill I have completed several 80% AR lowers, fixed 2 that I did with my drill press, made a chassis for one of my rifles, made a few muzzle brakes, and an AR gas block. I am just a hobbiest and I don't plan to use the machine to make any money. The chassis really pushed the capabilities of the mill and I have to stop and move the workpiece or the vise to machine the whole thing. This was very slow and certainly led to some accuracy problems.

Anyway, onto my question. I am not sure which way I want to take my hobby at this point. I have some extra money from my tax refund and I was looking at either getting a larger benchtop mill or converting my current mill to CNC. I feel like I will end up upgrading eventually but I also think CNCing would both be very interesting and keep me busy for a long while. I would like to machine an AR upper and lower from billet stock as well as reverse engineer a glock slide. I have plans to design and machine another chassis as well, but that will give me the same problems as the last one I did.

I currently have a 3 axis DRO and belt drive installed. If I upgrade I will sell this mill.

Has anyone been in the same position? I have never used a CNC machine or a larger mill so I am not sure which would benefit me better.