Work shed completed, have water blown up into inside walls

Thanks Lee,
yes, the contractor wants to use heavy duty oil base corking, but Not being a builder, I am not sure that adding a 1 by 4 to cover all the seams, corked along the lenght of the boards on top and bottom, but must get caulking in each vertical groove, or water will run along grooves and rot the wood.
Then I would ask him to cap all the boards because too cold to apply stain.
I am willing to pay him extra to do this , if it is a sound idea.
Does this sound like a smart fix?
Thanks,
ome

Thanks Lee,
yes, the contractor wants to use heavy duty oil base corking, but Not being a builder, I am not sure that adding a 1 by 4 to cover all the seams, corked along the lenght of the boards on top and bottom, but must get caulking in each vertical groove, or water will run along grooves and rot the wood.
Then I would ask him to cap all the boards because too cold to apply stain.
I am willing to pay him extra to do this , if it is a sound idea.
Does this sound like a smart fix?
Thanks,
ome